Liebster Award!

A big awesome shout out to one of my very favorite bloggy women Smile at My Lady Bits for nominating me for this lovely Liebster Award!  *high five, booty bump, hug*  If you don’t read her blog, you should.  She’s funny and clever and swears and drinks wine.  What is not to love about that?!  Thanks lady, love you!

To the questions (and these are hard!):

What has infertility forced you to learn about yourself, is there one thing that you can take away that has been a positive from this journey?  Infertility has forced me to learn that I used to be a little judgy about other people’s lives and change that.  It’s as simple as remembering that everything is relative to each person’s unique situation.  I had a co-worker share with me that his wife had miscarried.  He knew about my latest situation and said ‘it’s nothing compared to what you’re going through’ and I stopped him right there to make sure he knew that his pain, for the loss of his child, was no different than my pain.  This is the same person who’s mom died in a car wreck about 5 years ago.  I just talked to my mom on the phone.  Everyone has stuff.  Everyone has heartache and struggle and the enormity of it isn’t up to me to decide.  The positive lesson is that I know that I am a more compassionate person than I ever was before and as much as I’ve hated and resented this journey, this is a takeaway that I am very grateful for.

If you could pick one meal to have, from anywhere in the world, what would it be?  Oh boy, oh boy do I love food and the thing about great food is that it’s only as great as your company and your surroundings, in my opinion.  This is really hard.  My husband and I went to Italy on our honeymoon and spent a day hiking the Cinque Terra and when we finished we stopped at a restaurant playing Bruce Springsteen (random) and had pesto gnocchi and wine.  It was divine.  I think I would pick that meal but I’d have to back at the same place to eat it. 

What’s your favorite TV show?  My favorite TV show that is no longer on the air is Lost.  I loved that show.  We watched the first 4 seasons in about a 4 week span and then watched the remaining 3 seasons live.  It was just a great show.  I still watch reruns and love it.  My favorite show that is still on TV is Survivor.  I don’t know what it is but I just really like it.  It’s the only show I watch regularly and I think every week I tell my husband how horrible I would suck on it.  He would be great.  He would probably win but I wouldn’t be able to keep my snarky mouth shut and would probably get voted out ASAP.

What’s the best book you’ve read recently?  I haven’t been reading much lately and I need to get back into it.  It’s tax season so reading when I get home isn’t a high priority.  However… I did just read Lean In and I liked it.  I didn’t love it but there were several good takeaways that I thought were relevant to my career aspirations and my desire to have children.  I do love book suggestions so if you have any please tell.  Some of my past faves have been The Time Travelers Wife, The Lovely Bones, Hunger Games, etc.

What’s your guilty pleasure?  If I wasn’t so shy (ha!) my guilty pleasure would be karaoke.  I’m not a singer at all but I know a lot of songs and I like to sing along and every time I’ve imbibed and karaoke’d, it’s been a total blast.  Other than that, I LOVE to grab a bottle of wine and sit on my patio and read my book in the summer.  I could do it all day every day when it’s warm outside. 

If you could live anywhere on this planet, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose to live?  I live in Oregon and I think it’s really the right place for me however if I were to pick somewhere other than here, I would choose to live in Venice.  To me Venice is this laid back fairy tale of a place.  I love it.

If you were to create a slogan for your life, what would it be?  The only thing stopping me is me. 

What was the best day of your life and why?  Totally cliché but my wedding day. It was just such a blast!  I loved having so many people who I love and enjoy being around together all at once.  Our DJ was insane and awesome and he did this “Circle of Love” thing where he made everyone at the reception (150 guests) get in a circle and hold hands then he started a traveling hug that started with my husband and I and ended at the other side of the ciricle where that person then ran over and gave my husband a hug to complete it.  It was so cool to see my best college girl hugging my sisters long time best friend and a good family friend of my parents hugging a relative of my husbands.  It was a moment I will never forget. All of this in addition to getting to marry the love of my life, of course!  So many great memories of that day.  After the wedding, going back to the hotel and watching highlights of our college football team get killed at Penn State and popping three bottles of champagne because we didn’t really like the first two…  It was truly magic.

What soothes your spirit when you are unhappy or in a bad mood?  My family.  Plain and simple.  A hug from my husband, an email from my mom, a phone call with my sister, a text from my dad.  All of them.  My extended family too.  They just remind me how lucky I am to have this life and to have them in it that the bad stuff tends to fade. 

And now the nominations!  I get to nominate some awesome peeps for this and I am very excited to do so!!  I think they are pretty neat so they have probably all been nominated for this already!

Jena over at Someday Mama has a really cool blog with video entries and everything.  They are currently waiting to figure out when they will transfer one of their 7 snowbabies!  She and her husband are ridiculously cute.  You can’t help but love them and root for them!

Elisha at Waiting for Baby Bird writes these wonderful, faith-based entries that always make me smile and nod my head and then think.  I love her writing style and I am not sure I have even commented much on her blog!  I am a total stalker you guys.  I am in awe of her relationship with Jesus and her ability to write so elegantly about it. 

Then there’s Miss Jenn’s Blog and her journey to double mommyhood.  She’s got twins on board!  Yay Jenn!!  I love her energy and spirit and am so excited to cheer her on in this next phase.

Last, but not least, is my fellow Oregonian over at It’s On it’s Way Today who is also a twin mommy-to-be.  Loved her latest post with the photo of her pregnancy announcement.  Thrilled for you!

And here are the rules:

If you choose to participate (and you don’t have to, no pressure at all) here are the rules to “accept” it.

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
  2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.
  3. Answer the questions that I give you below:
  • What word or words of advice would you give to your 10-year old self?
  • What song would make you shush everyone around you and sing at the top of your lungs?
  • Would you rather be a watermelon or a pineapple?
  • What are you obsessed with right now?
  • What is one word that best describes you?
  • Is that one word different than you would have picked before this journey?
  • Tell us something about yourself that we may not know… for me, I am a really good jump roper.  Like really good.  Seriously.

    4.  Nominate as many blogs that you feel deserve the award.

    5.  Create a new list of questions for the bloggers you have nominated to answer.

    6.  List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here)

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. Oh my gosh!! Thank you so much for the love and the nomination. I loved your answers!! It’s so awesome getting to know my fellow blogettes in other ways than our lady parts. Haha. Congrats on your award!!

  2. I finally figured out my login for this to comment after forgetting/losing and not participating for months. Such great answers to those questions! It really makes me want to just fly there and hug you. Sorry that I have been the poster child for “paralyzed with fear over saying/doing the wrong thing so opted for poor communication which is obviously the wrong thing.” I wish I could send you a counter of how many times each day I think about you as a love token. This blog has been an absolute gift to me, who desires any way to better know and connect to your true self. Thank you for including me in your journey. It is a gift beyond price.

  3. I too have learned through this process that I am a lot more judgmental than I realized, I’ve learned to step back and think before reacting because you never know what people are going through. If you are looking for a good book series to read that is similar to Hunger Games you might want to try Divergent by Veronica Roth. It’s a quick read but I really enjoyed it.

  4. Love from me right back at ya! One of my favorite meals was also in the Cinque Terra – this amazing seafood risotto that we ate watching the sunset, would go back there this instant if I could. And loved your answer about what you’ve learned from infertility, I think it has made me more understanding and empathetic to others situations as well, at least we have some good that comes out of this crap fest 🙂

  5. Ahhhh! I just read this nomination now because I’ve off the wordpress-grid for a month!! Thank you so much for your nomination and support throughout. It means so much to me. HUGS!!!

Leave a Reply

