Currently…

I’m linking up (as if I know what that means) with Ot and Et and Harvesting Kale and their delightful “Currently” series.  This week: craving, waiting, remembering, liking, cooking… enjoy!

With Halloween behind us, that means that all of the leftover candy has found it’s way into my belly.  I’m sick to my stomach from the sugar and craving all of that candy to be GONE!  I love me some candy goodness.  I prefer fruit things like starbursts and skittles but will stoop to the second level of sugar love for some Milky Way or Snickers.  I will even go so far as to test whether or not I still hate something.  I have never liked Almond Joy or Mounds (that’s pretty much the only candy I stay away from) and here I was popping one into my mouth as if it would magically not suck.  To be fair, I didn’t eat the second Almond Joy I grabbed.

Until this week I was waiting for a good time to start a blog.  I’ve been thinking about it and self doubting and second guessing and finally decided to go for it.  I have some serious blog envy coursing through my veins right now because mine is lame.  It’s not personalized (it was free) and I don’t know how to personalize it visually.  Someday I’ll get it figured out but it will likely take one of my bloggy friends to sit down and show me what I’m missing.

I moved my office this week.  Warning: I’m an accountant so we are about to entry the nerdery.  I moved my office and the way that my monitors (yes, I have more than 1 but I NEED more than 1… I need all 3) and my stuff is set up, my 10-key cord doesn’t reach the plug in.  I could get an extension cord but it wouldn’t look very good and I know one of my bosses would give me endless shit about it.  I love my 10-key.  It has serious nostalgic value.  The sound of the keys and the receipt printer take me back and I start remembering going with my mom to her office (she is a retired accountant) and sitting in the office next to her coloring while she worked.  The sound of 10-key clicking and receipt printing fills my childhood.  That and the smell of dry erase markers.

I went to a women’s leadership conference in D.C a few weeks ago and I have been really liking talking with my female co-workers about what I learned!  They are as pumped about some of the retention ideas that were presented as I am.  This is not a group that gets very excited about a common thing.  It’s pretty cool to be able to look around at a group of successful, smart women and know that we are really united in making the place we spend most of our day a place of opportunity and advancement.

I prefer to go out, order a glass of wine and enjoy it while someone else spends the time cooking my dinner!

3 thoughts on “Currently…

  1. I really do like the way you write – right from the “as if I know what that means” bit. And you talk about work! And women in leadership! My blog is nearly a couple of years old and is still horribly generic and bland because I have no idea with how to change it. I have a feeling you’ll do better than me on that. Looking forward to reading more.

  2. Fun post. I can completely relate to the candy curse and I love hearing bout work, as I sit here changing diaper after diaper:)

Leave a Reply

